Universal Unitarianism

The theology of individual Unitarian Universalists ranges widely, including Humanism, Atheism, Agnosticism, Pantheism, Deism, Christianity, Feminism, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Paganism, Buddhism, and many more.

Seven Principles

There are seven principles which Unitarian Universalist congregations affirm and promote:

  • The inherent worth and dignity of every person;
  • Justice, equity and compassion in human relations;
  • Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations;
  • A free and responsible search for truth and meaning;
  • The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large;
  • The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all;
  • Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part.

In June 2021, Emerson’s congregation endorsed the spirit and intent of a proposed 8th Principle of the Unitarian Universalist Association, to “affirm and promote journeying toward spiritual wholeness by working to build a diverse multicultural Beloved Community by our actions that accountably dismantle racism and other oppressions in ourselves and our institutions.”  Emerson’s Racial Justice Task Force has since been working on how to “Widen Our Circle” and take the next step towards dismantling racism and oppression within ourselves and our congregation.

Learn more about the 8th Principle on the UUA website: https://www.8thprincipleuu.org/